The Science of life


What is Ayurveda

Ayurveda is known to be the oldest healing science in existence, forming the foundation of many other therapy sciences. In Sanskrit, Ayurveda means “the science of life.” Ayurvedic knowledge originated in India more than 5,000 years ago and is often referred to as the “mother of all healing.” It originates from the ancient Vedic culture and was taught for thousands of years through oral modes of communication from accomplished masters to their disciples.

Diagnosis in Ayurveda

In Ayurveda, the concept of diagnosis stems out of the belief that the body is constantly interacting between order and disorder in a balanced way; and diagnosis is the idea of regularly monitoring these interactions from moment-to-moment basis.

Importance of Vihar (Lifestyle) in Ayurveda

Lifestyle (or Vihar) is a cumulative product of your natural physical capacity at co-ordination with its mental functioning; consisting of habits, behaviour, everyday diet and living pattern, family history and the environment in which you grow.

Ayurveda & The Concept of Disease

According to Ayurveda, disease is a state of the body and mind that gives pain and discomfort to us. The cause of disturbance of the normal balance between the mind.

Ayurveda & the Concept of Health

In Ayurveda, the concept of health or Swasthya is fundamental to the understanding of any disease or abnormality. The word ‘disease’ can be broken into ‘dis’ meaning ‘deprived of’ and ‘ease’ meaning ‘comfort’.

Importance of Ahar (Diet) in Ayurveda

In Ayurveda, food is called ‘mahabhaisajya’ which means ‘the best medicine. You can maintain your health and prevent diseases for a long time if you eat the right food and follow the right kind of lifestyle as per your needs and in line with the seasons and cycles of nature.

Panch Mahabhutas – the five basic elements of life

Ayurveda believes in the concept that man is a microcosm (small sample) of the world that he lives in. This means that the basic elements that man is made up of are the same set of elements.

Prakriti The Unique Identity

In Ayurveda, ‘Prakriti’ means every individual’s unique constitution and identity. This constitution is determined at the birth of every person and depends on several factors such as family history, appearance, personality, habits, food choices etc.

Saptadhatu The Seven Body Tissues

The human body is primarily made up of seven basic and vital tissues called dhatus. The Sanskrit word dhatu means ‘constructing element’. These seven dhatus are responsible for the entire structure of the body.

Trayodosa Agni The Digestive Fire inside body

As per the principles of Ayurveda, the biological fire of the body for all the metabolic functions (chemical processes for digestion of food) is called ‘Agni’. The food that we eat gets digested and absorbed from the stomach every day, which is important for the maintenance of life. This is performed by Agni.